The Seven Gates of Soul

Reviews

an ingenious, carefully laid out path to the wisdom of the ages

Here you will find an ingenious, carefully laid out path not only to a deep practice of astrology, but also to the wisdom of the ages. This book is nothing less than an imaginative course in the Western imagination, culminating in astropoetics, itself an ancient idea now brought to life by Joe Landwehr. It's about time astrology was given its place in the history of thought.

 

Thomas Moore, author of Care of the Soul and Dark Nights of the Soul

 

a rich treatment of a complex subject

Joe Landwehr is a creative and imaginative thinker and has given us a rich treatment of a complex subject . . . The Seven Gates of Soul is . . . a welcome addition to the growing body of work in recent years that aims to question assumptions held by contemporary astrologers and to inspire us to consider astrology in the wider cultural and spiritual context.

 

Mary Plumb, The Mountain Astrologer (July/August, 2005)

a complete philosophy in itself


This is a huge book . . . vast, encompassing and a complete philosophy in itself . . . Mr. Landwehr clearly has been thinking for a very long time about astrology, philosophy and the moral and theological issues that have vexed humanity from the beginning of intellectual time.  Not only that, he also concerns himself with the issues that went before intellectual time; times when there was no Cartesian divide, no chasm between nature and culture, body and soul . . . His work in this book is extensive, and in the reading, expansive.  From “participation mystique” – the time of total involvement between human and its environment – through post-Newtonian science, Landwehr explores the vast realm of the historical and practical aspects of astrology and philosophy.

 

Erin Sullivan, The international Astrologer (Winter/Spring, 2005)

a well written, extensively researched and thought-provoking book of immense value

 

A well written, extensively researched and thought-provoking book... a brave attempt to fill a massive gap in basic astrological theory. . .  His attempt is . . . of immense value and it will surely stimulate others to think long and deep about the essential foundation of our subject.

Ken Gillman, Considerations (November 2004)

 

a monumental, meaty, breakthrough book

 

This is a monumental, meaty, breakthrough book on the philosophy of astrology . . . Although this is on some levels a scholarly text, it is in no way dry or pedantic. I found it very readable, though it took me several sittings to digest all the information. . . . Consider it a textbook on the anatomy and epistemology of soul. 

Donna Van Toen, NCGR Newsletter (December 2004/January 2005)

 

a superb, beautifully readable book, that breaks new ground

 

Thanks for writing a superb, beautifully readable book, that breaks new ground – a classic in my humble opinion. 

Peter Smith, reader

 

so different from anything else out there

 

Your unique approach to everything that you write about is so different from anything else out there it really fascinates me;  although I have studied various forms of astrology for years your approach has me starting all over again... but that is a very big compliment believe me.  Thank you for your dedication to your new paradigm and your superb writing. 

Catt Berlin-George, reader

 

serious and intense work

 

A serious and intense work of prolonged thought and feeling written to speak against common exhortations that obfuscate the process of understanding with the intensely human yet ultimately misleading need to believe what we want to believe.

Reviewer’s Choice, Midwest Book Review, December 2004

 

an incredible amount of information

 

Landwehr provides an incredible amount of information . . . to enable the reader to understand where concepts and ideas of the soul originated. . . This is not light or easy reading but it is fascinating. . . The 'aha' moments made this book worth the effort. . . The author’s enthusiasm and dedication to finding his truth kept me reading.  I recommend this book as a college textbook and to those who are dissatisfied with the surface discussion of soul found in most mainstream books.

Erika K. Oliver, ReaderViews.com (February 2006)

 

contains complete libraries worth of related material carefully compiled

 

The author has done an exemplary job at illustrating a very complete history . . . This book contains complete libraries worth of related material carefully compiled in a meaningful, organized way. These concepts are presented in such a complete way that one need not have any background on the subject to read and understand this book . . .  Furthermore, the author has managed to keep non-denominational, non-egocentric while presenting this material.  In this way, a wide variety of spiritualities, cultures, and investigation methods throughout the world are investigated without cultural bias.

Tami Brady, Blether

 

a very intriguing and beautifully written book

The Seven Gates of Soul is a very intriguing and beautifully written book--one that I personally would like to study and contemplate in depth.   I will definitely recommend this book to our customers.

Ann Holsman, Wisebird Bookery, Ogden, UT

 

refreshingly creative, accessible and articulate

Joe Landwehr has finally bridged the gap between Mind and Soul with The Seven Gates of Soul. Yes, it is packed with interesting and insightful bits of history, philosophy, and religion, but it is also refreshingly creative in applying those disciplines to our modern search for soulful connections. His style is accessible and articulate which made me want to keep reading, but every page has so much to digest that I had to take it slowly to appreciate the wisdom that it contained. I highly recommend this book, not only to serious astrologers, but to all thinking and feeling individuals who have an interest in who we are, and could be, in the grand scheme of things.

Fran Laakman, student at The Astropoetic School (goes to EXPERIENCE: The Astropoetic School)

 

three great elements: something unique to say; a writer's gift of style; and soul

 

(Your book) is FANTASTIC!   You combine the three great elements: you have something unique to say; you have a writer's gift of "style;" and you have SOUL! . . . I can really see it being taught as a college course.  In fact we may start using it in our classes here at Centerpoint . . . Thanks for the 'Gift' of having written it.

Robert Burner, director, Centerpoint Hypnotherapy Center, Willow Springs, MO

 

nothing less than pure genius

This incredible work is a testament to the breadth and depth of Joe Landwehr’s knowledge, coupled with his penetrating, clear insight into the heart of a matter.  Joe’s ability to track, distill and summarize complex historical movements that have evolved into our present day culture is nothing less than pure genius!

 

Michelle Arida, astrologer, student at The Astropoetic School (goes to EXPERIENCE: The Astropoetic School)

I do not know much about astrology. You helped me lose my intellectual distance to it.


Thank you for writing this book. I am surely not the only one in the world who will think or say that.  You have accumulated a tremendous amount of knowledge – my highest respect – and have been able to condense this enormous amount of information in brief, but poetic form. The worlds you reflect are so diverse and complex and you bring them into harmony. I do not know much about astrology. You helped me lose my intellectual distance to it.

 

Marion Schneider, co-owner of KBS Medical Spa, Toskana Therme and Hotel an der Therme in Bad Sulza

and the Toskana Therme in Bad Schandau, Germany

reading this book has had a lasting impact on how I view my own astrological practice

Mr. Landwehr . . . not only analyzes, but he has the bravery to suggest active changes to return society to ancient wisdom and our own personal spirituality focused on being soul driven rather than personality driven. . . . Most important of all, reading this book has had a lasting impact on how I view my own astrological consulting practice.

 

Jacquelyn Archer, a Must-Read book, BookReviews.com (February 2005) 

this book will gain in recognition as it becomes discovered

I'm sure this book will gain in recognition as it becomes discovered by those who truly want to understand on a deeper level the value of astrology as a means towards comprehending what spirit is actually doing in its inhabitance of our bodies.

 

Genevieve Vierling, astrologer, bluelightlady.com

will become a classic


I think the book is quite special. . . It may be the kind of book that doesn’t create a sudden excitement, but will become a classic, growing slowly in popularity over the next decades.

 

Brita Adkinson, New Age Retailer
 

Awards

Reader's Choice, Midwest Book Review (December 2004)

Must-Read Book, Reader Views (February 2005)

Highlighted Title, Independent Publishers Online (March 2005)

Finalist, Foreword Philosophy Book of the Year 2004
 

Copyright 2020 - Joe Landwehr